Teen Dies in Hit-and-Run in Las Vegas

March 19, 2013

On Sunday an apparent hit-and-run accident in Las Vegas resulted in the death of a 17-year-old female pedestrian. She was found in the center travel line by other drivers. At this time there are no leads as to who may have caused the collision. If anyone is arrested for the incident, he/she may face the Nevada crime of hit-and-run. This incident is Las Vegas's 26th traffic-related death so far in 2013.

Las Vegas Pedestrian Fatality

Fleeing the scene of an accident in Nevada qualifies as the Nevada crime of hit-and-run irrespective of whether the person fleeing caused the accident. Everyone involved in an accident has the duty to exchange information and potentially render aid and even file an accident report. The information drivers must exchange include names, addresses, vehicle registration numbers, and driver license information (upon request by the other driver).

Continue reading "Teen Dies in Hit-and-Run in Las Vegas" »

Driver Arrested in Las Vegas after Hitting 7-Year-Old Pedestrian

January 22, 2013

Yesterday a motorist in Las Vegas reportedly hit a seven-year-old girl pedestrian before leaving the scene of the accident. The girl sustained a broken leg. Later police caught up with and arrested the motorist, who faces charges for the Nevada crime of hit and run.

Las Vegas Hit and Run Arrest

The Nevada crime of hit and run occurs when a driver flees the scene of an accident he/she was involved in regardless of whether that driver was at fault. Drivers involved in an accident have a legal duty to exchange information, render aid if necessary, and possibly file a police report. The information drivers must exchange include names, addresses, VIN numbers, and (if requested) driver's license numbers.

Continue reading "Driver Arrested in Las Vegas after Hitting 7-Year-Old Pedestrian" »

Man Arrested for Fatal Hit-and-Run in Las Vegas

September 24, 2012

This past weekend police arrested a 49-year-old man for the Nevada crime of hit and run. He allegedly fled the scene of a five-car accident which left one person dead and two others hurt on the I-215 near the Sahara exit. He faces five charges total and was booked at the Clark County Detention Center.

I-215 Hit Run Arrest

The Nevada crime of hit and run occurs when someone leaves the scene of an accident without stopping and exchanging names, addresses and VIN numbers. If anyone is injured, the other driver is also obligated to render reasonable assistance. The driver also has to give this information to a cop investigating the accident.

Continue reading "Man Arrested for Fatal Hit-and-Run in Las Vegas" »

DUI Hit-and-Run in Reno

On Monday a twenty-four year old woman was arrested in Reno for DUI and the Nevada crime of hit-and-run. She was allegedly driving drunk when she hit a pedestrian, who sustained serious injuries. The police tracked down the suspect a few blocks from the accident.

Reno Hit Run Crash

A person commits the Nevada crime of hit and run when he/she gets into a collision with another and doesn't stop to render reasonable assistance to anyone injured in the accident. The driver also has the duty to exchange names, vehicle registration numbers, addresses, and driver's licenses upon request. Drivers also have the duty to surrender this information to an investigating police officer.

The Nevada crime of hit and run can be a felony if it results in death or bodily injury. The sentence includes two to fifteen years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines in addition to a license suspension or revocation. Otherwise this crime is punished as a misdemeanor carrying up to six months in jail and/or $1,000 in fines and six demerit points to the driver's license.

For more on this story go to: http://www.ktvn.com/story/18814187/reno-woman-arrested-for-dui-and-hit-and-run

To learn about Nevada Laws for DUI causing injury or death, watch our informational video:

Man Arrested for Hit and Run in Reno

November 29, 2010

Earlier this month a thirty-one-year old man was arrested in Reno by the Nevada Highway Patrol for violating Nevada hit and run law. He allegedly sped through an intersection and hit an SUV as well as a pedestrian. The pedestrian sustained serious bodily injuries. The driver was later found reportedly drunk and with an infant that was in the car at the time of the collisions.

Nevada hit and run law makes it a misdemeanor to flee a car accident that resulted only in property damage. If the vehicle hit is unattended at the time, the driver has a duty to stop and try to find the owner or else leave a written note with their name and address as well as to inform the police. Possible penalties include up to $1,000 in fines and/or up to six months in jail as well as six demerit points on your license and possible restitution to fix the damaged car.

Nevada hit and run law makes it a category B felony to flee a car accident that resulted in bodily injury or a fatality. The driver has the duty to stop, exchange information and render aid. Penalties include two to fifteen years in prison, a fine of $2,000 to $5,000, and possible license suspension.

For more on this story, go to: http://www.kolotv.com/home/headlines/Driver_Arrested_for_DUI_in_Sun_Valley_Hit_and_Run_108270324.html

Inmate in Need of Kidney Transplant Denied Parole

Last week the Nevada Pardons Board denied parole to an inmate who pleaded guilty to DUI causing death back in 2001. He allegedly killed a bicyclist while driving intoxicated, and he was sentenced to five to fifteen years for the DUI and for another four to ten years for violating Nevada hit and run law. The inmate is in need of a kidney transplant or dialysis.

Nevada hit and run law makes it a crime to leave the scene of an accident without stopping to render aid and exchange the following information: names, addresses, vehicle registration numbers, and driver's license numbers (upon request). Neglecting this duty after an accident that resulted only in property damage is a misdemeanor, with penalties of up to six months in jail and/or up to $1,000 in fines as well as six license demerit points. But if the accident involves injury or death, Nevada hit and run law makes fleeing the scene a category B felony, carrying two to fifteen years in prison, a $2,000 - $5,000 fine, and possible license suspension or revocation.

Hitting an unattended vehicle or other property imposes a duty on the driver to try to find the owner. If they can't, they then have to leave a conspicuous note with their name and address. Drivers involved in a car accident involving injury or property damage of $750 or more are obligated to file an accident report as well (unless a policeman at the scene filed one). Failing to file a report results in a year's license suspension, and filing a false report is a gross misdemeanor, carrying up to a year in jail and/or up to $2,000 in fines.

For more on this story, go to: http://www.lvrj.com/news/drunken-driver-denied-parole-in-2001-death-92394769.html.